World Library  


Add to Book Shelf
Flag as Inappropriate
Email this Book

The Journal of a Tour to the Hebrides, With Samuel Johnson, Containing Some Poetical Pieces by Dr. Johnson, Relative to the Tour, And Never before Published. A Series of His Conversation, Literary Anecdotes, And Opinions of Men and Books: With an Authentick Account of the Distresses and Escape of the Grandson of King James II in the Year 1746

By Boswell, James

Click here to view

Book Id: WPLBN0000206182
Format Type: PDF eBook
File Size: 1.5 MB
Reproduction Date: 2005

Title: The Journal of a Tour to the Hebrides, With Samuel Johnson, Containing Some Poetical Pieces by Dr. Johnson, Relative to the Tour, And Never before Published. A Series of His Conversation, Literary Anecdotes, And Opinions of Men and Books: With an Authentick Account of the Distresses and Escape of the Grandson of King James II in the Year 1746  
Author: Boswell, James
Volume:
Language: English
Subject: Literature, Literature & thought, Writing.
Collections: Classic Literature Collection
Historic
Publication Date:
Publisher: World Ebook Library

Citation

APA MLA Chicago

Boswell, J. (n.d.). The Journal of a Tour to the Hebrides, With Samuel Johnson, Containing Some Poetical Pieces by Dr. Johnson, Relative to the Tour, And Never before Published. A Series of His Conversation, Literary Anecdotes, And Opinions of Men and Books: With an Authentick Account of the Distresses and Escape of the Grandson of King James II in the Year 1746. Retrieved from http://netlibrary.net/


Excerpt
In every narrative, whether historical or biographical, authenticity is of the utmost consequence. Of this I have ever been so firmly persuaded, that I inscribed a former work to that person who was the best judge of its truth. I need not tell you I mean General Paoli; who, after his great, though unsuccessful, efforts to preserve the liberties of his country, has found an honourable asylum in Britain, where he has now lived many years the object of Royal regard and private respect; and whom I cannot name without expressing my very grateful sense of the uniform kindness which he has been pleased to shew me. The friends of Doctor Johnson can best judge, from internal evidence, whether the numerous conversations which form the most valuable part of the ensuing pages, are correctly related. To them, therefore I wish to appeal, for the accuracy of the portrait here exhibited to the world. As one of those who were intimately acquainted with him, you have a tide to this address. You have obligingly taken the trouble to peruse the original manuscript of this tour, and can vouch for the strict fidelity of the present publication. Your literary alliance with our much lamented friend, in consequence of having undertaken to render one of his labours more complete, by your edition of Shakespeare, a work which I am confident will not disappoint the expectations of the publick, gives you another claim. But I have a still more powerful inducement to prefix your name to this volume, as it gives me an opportunity of letting the world know that I enjoy the honour and happiness of your friendship; and of thus publickly testifying the sincere regard with which I am.

Table of Contents
· DEDICATION TO EDMOND MALONE, ESQ. · Sunday, 15th August · Monday, 16th August · Tuesday, 17th August · Wednesday, 18th August · Thursday, 19th August · Friday, 2Oth August · Saturday, 21st August · Sunday, 22d August · Monday, 23d August · Tuesday, 24th August · Wednesday, 25th August · Thursday, 26th August · Friday, 27th August · Saturday, 28th August · Sunday, 29th August · Monday, 30th August · Tuesday, 31st August · Wednesday, 1st September · Thursday, 2d September · Friday, 3d September · Saturday, 4th September · Sunday, 5th September · Monday, 6th September · Tuesday, 7th September · Wednesday, 8th September · Thursday, 9th September · Friday, 10th September · Saturday, 11th September · Sunday, 12th September · Monday, 13th September · Tuesday, 14th September · Wednesday, 15th September · Thursday, 16th September


 

Click To View

Additional Books


  • The Perfumed Garden of the Shaykh Nefwaz... (by )
  • Diplomatic Impunity : A Midnight Sentine... (by )
  • The Ghost Whistle (by )
  • The Lamplighter (by )
  • The Wandering Jew, The Chastisement (by )
  • Guy Garrick (by )
  • Two Penniless Princesses (by )
  • The Importance of Being Earnest : A Triv... (by )
  • Traits and Stories of the Huguenots (by )
  • On Fistulae (by )
  • Europe (by )
  • Henry Clay's Remarks before the House an... (by )
Scroll Left
Scroll Right

 



Copyright © World Library Foundation. All rights reserved. eBooks from World Library are sponsored by the World Library Foundation,
a 501c(4) Member's Support Non-Profit Organization, and is NOT affiliated with any governmental agency or department.